Hidden Scroll no. 13

The Months

Traditionally in Japan they use the lunar calander rather than the solar one they use today. In New Edo they have continued using this calander rather than adopt the solar one from the west.

The names of each month are as follows:

1. Mutsuki
2. Kisaragi
3. Yayaoi
4. Uzuki
5. Satsuki
6. Minatsuki
7. Fuduki
8. Hazuki
9. Nagatsuki
10. Kanazuki
11. Shimotsuki
12. Shihasu

Because the new year typically starts around the end of January to the beginning of February, you can think of each month as being about a month later than we usually think of it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s